Posted on Leave a comment

The coat of arms.

The coat of arms of Costa Rica is beautiful and elaborate, it was created in 1848 and includes seven stars representing the seven provinces of Costa Rica: Guanacaste, Puntarenas, Heredia, Alajuela, Limón, San José and Cartago.

Figure 1 The coat of arms of Costa Rica

We can also see three volcano peaks, the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea, a rising sun at the background that shows prosperity, a merchant ship to represent the exchange that Costa Rica does with the rest of the world, two branches of myrtle for peace and two banners, the blue one says ” América Central” ​​and the white one says ” República de Costa Rica”.

(2010). Costa Rica National Emblem. Retrieved October 2, 2019, from Webmaster website: